Manvel High School Athletics


All-24-5A Softball team features 14 area players


The Alvin Sun | 6/18/2019

PHOTO CREDIT: Prentice C. James

The area playoff finalists Manvel Lady Mavericks and Shadow Creek Lady Sharks combined to place 14 players on the All-District 24-5A Softball team.

Sophomore first baseman Riley Bennett joined sophomore pitcher Addison Greak, senior catcher Brianna Garcia and junior outfielder Nicole Blaise on the first team for Manvel.

Junior pitcher Zara Bennett also made the first team cut for Shadow Creek, as did Lady Sharks’ senior infielder Aniyah Burns and freshman outfielder Jillian Gutierrez.

Garcia delivered a staggering .556 average at the plate with 28 RBI’s and nine doubles, while Bennett batted .413 with 20 RBI’s and 10 doubles and Blaise batted .308 with 20 RBI’s.

Greak collected a team-leading 11 victories in the circle and drove in 13 runs on the offensive side.

Zara Bennett drove in a career-high five RBI’s in both a 14-10 SC win over Rosenberg Terry on March 5 and the Lady Sharks’ 21-2 bi-district playoff victory over Fort Bend Austin on April 25. Burns had three hits in both the Terry and Austin games and Gutierrez also produced four hits and three RBI’s in the Austin contest.

Shadow Creek senior Ahmeera Bennett and Lady Mavs’ sophomore Karissa Schneider were both named to the second team infield, while Manvel freshman Haley Ratcliff earned a ST nod in the outfield and Lady Mavs’ junior Brittany Hood was recognized for her versatility with the utility accolade.

Schneider batted .362 with 25 runs batted in, while Hood’s .365 average and team-leading 29 RBI’s complemented four wins in the pitching circle and Ratcliff provided 13 RBI’s, as well.

Honorable mention status went to Desiree De La Garza (Manvel), Larissa Maciel (Shadow Creek) and Holly Vollman (Shadow Creek).

State champion Angleton headed the all-district selections with 10 players. Pitcher Aaliyah Garcia, who gained top player honors for her state tournament performance, was named the district’s most valuable player, while junior Danieca Coffey received the defensive player of the year award and Cindy Rubio was tabbed as the league’s top coach.

Other first team picks included catcher Alyssa Muceus (Richmond Foster); infielders Mia Scott (Angleton), Haylie Savage (Angleton), Shelby Showers (Richmond Foster) and Brandi Juarez (Rosenberg Terry); outfielders Ellie Grill (Angleton), Kylie Neal (Richmond Foster); designated player Sierra Toman (Richmond Foster); and utility player Ashleigh Rodriguez (Rosenberg Terry).

Richmond Foster’s Amanda Allen was named the pitcher of the year, while Lady Falcon Ciarra Mata gained the top offensive nod and Rosenberg Terry’s Giselle Villarreal was chosen as the newcomer of the year.

The second team picks were rounded out by pitcher Alex Howard (Rosenberg Terry); catcher Mika Hinojosa (Angleton); infielders Kayla King (Lamar Consolidated), Raegan Kotria (Angleton), Kylie Stamper (Richmond Foster), Alexis Morin (Richmond Foster) and Lainey Holt (Rosenberg Terry); outfielders Malerie Badillo (Lamar Consolidated), Leea Dempsey (Richmond Foster), Avery Farr (Angleton) and Teagan Whitley (Angleton); and DP Angel Jasso (Angleton).

The Lady Mavs went 21-12 and earned ... Click here to read full article